Team Erickson

Here we go!

We’re Gonna Have a Baby! March 30, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy — teamerickson @ 8:34 pm

Yes, I am with child!  No, we weren’t “trying,” but we weren’t “preventing” very well either.

Hence the baby. 

I found out I was pregnant via an over the counter test on February 18, which was the night we were leaving for a ski trip to see my parents.  What a wild discovery that was!  We were going to keep it a secret from family until our first Dr. visit, but God had different plans.  Sneaky guy.  I was racing my mom and dad down one of my favorite ski runs at White Pass (and I was winning!) when I took a wrong turn and ended up hitting a 3 foot tree with my knee.  I was in so much pain that my dad (Mr. Ski Patrol) and his side kick Johnny, had to take me down in a toboggan.  I couldn’t walk and even just moving hurt.  On the way home, my concerned mom (Mrs. Pharmacy) was trying make me take every drug imaginable.  I told her I didn’t want to yet, but she was persistent!  So I finally let the cat out of the bag, much to her and my dad’s delight!  We told John’s parents the next day because it was his dad’s birthday, what a great birthday surprise!

We waited until now to tell all of our friends and extended family because we wanted to make sure everything was going ok.  We got to see the baby on Monday through the modern marvel of ultrasound.  What a rush!  Our baby was kicking around in there like crazy, and its little heart was beating away at 167 beats per minute!  So all is looking healthy and we are finally ready to let everyone know.

Below is baby’s first picture.  Just imagine that baby is facing to the left.  See those four little white lines next to the “Hand” label?  Those are fingers!

Baby's first picture!

I am 9 weeks along, I’ll be 10 on Friday.  And our official due date for now is October 29, 2010.  So far, I’m feeling great, just a bit tired.  We are so thrilled for this new adventure!

 

3 Responses to “We’re Gonna Have a Baby!”

  1. Grandma-to-be Caroline Says:

    We are so excited about “baby making three.” Loved that first picture. Larry and I pray for you guys every day!

  2. Welcome to the world of blogging! I’ll add you to my feeds! Bams

  3. Apryl Bowen Says:

    That is so awsome! I am so excited for you guys. I have a friend that had been trying for over a month and just found out she is preg. too and due Oct. 15th! Can’t wait to see you little bean growing, it’s so exciting!


Leave a Reply

