Team Erickson

Here we go!

Food, oh how I love (and hate) thee! April 2, 2010

Filed under: Food...,Pregnancy — teamerickson @ 8:43 am

I love food.  I like to eat good food.  But now that I’ve got a bun in the oven, there’s a few things that just don’t look as appetizing.

Chili.  Used to be my favorite thing to make and eat.  Now I can’t even think about it.

Eggs.  Ok, this is sort of a weird one.  I simply can’t eat eggs… unless they’re hard boiled.  I’ll get to that anomaly later.

Falafels.  Oh man I miss them.  But not really because they just gross me out right now.  For those of you not lucky enough to live in CO, you are really missing out on a little thing called Garbanzo’s.

Chipotle veggie burrito bowl with guacamole.  This one is hit or miss, depending on the day.  But it’s mostly miss.

Now, on to the cravings…

Hard boiled eggs.  This one is so weird.  It was my very first craving and it hit me hard.  For about a week or so, I couldn’t get enough hard boiled eggs.  It wasn’t unusual for me to eat three a day.  And from what I’ve heard, most pregnant women can’t even be near them.  I don’t know what to say.

Mac n cheese.  Comfort food!  I craved this after my hard boiled egg craving.  I haven’t eaten mac n cheese at home since I don’t know when.  (I mean, I’d order it at Lucille’s BBQ on the off chance that we had enough money to eat there, but bringing it home was a different story.)  It was sort of off limits cause I would want to eat the whole box.  In one sitting.  By myself.  Had this craving for about a week, then it disappeard.

Canned tuna.  Oh man!  Talk about another weird one.  Mix it with a little mayo and I’m good to go.  And I especially love it with crackers and cheese.  Only thing is, I feel bad about taking it to work.  The smell…

Sugar.  I think this one is pretty normal.  There are some days where I can’t keep my hands out of all the candy dishes at work.  I try to avoid them as much as possible, but sometimes a girl’s gotta give in to the dark chocolate M&M’s.

Update on baby for the week:

I am 10 weeks today!  Baby is about an inch and a quarter to and inch and a half, the size of a kumquat.  (I don’t even know what that is.  Note to self: Google kumquat.)  Baby is swallowing fluid, and my little soccer/football/baseball/badminton player is kicking up a storm.  We’ve also got finger and toe nails forming this week, along with some peach fuzz!  And baby’s little limbs are flexing at the wrist, knee, elbow, ankle.  Fun fun!

 

2 Responses to “Food, oh how I love (and hate) thee!”

  1. Gramma June Says:

    Hi honey,
    I guess I’m going to get drug into the 21st century.
    Had a heck of a time figuring this out.
    I’m so happy for you. All the inconveniences are worth it.
    More later, luv u gramma


Leave a Reply

