Team Erickson

Here we go!

OB appointment #2 April 28, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy — teamerickson @ 11:03 am

I had my second OB appointment yesterday.  It was really short.  Like maybe 15 or 20 minutes.  I got to meet another doctor in the practice, and I really liked her, so that’s always good.

The assistant weighed me (I’ve gained about 4 lbs, which is normal), took me back to my room, took my blood pressure (it was in the lower part of the normal range, so that was good), and asked me a few questions.  Then I waited for the Dr. to come in.  The Dr. introduced herself and asked me a couple more questions.  She was pretty funny, and I liked her sense of humor.  Then she had my lie on my back while she squirted some goop on my belly.  She took a hand-held Doppler machine with a wand and rubbed it all over my tum-tum to try to find the baby’s heartbeat.

The first machine she used was apparently low on batteries, because it kept beeping and she couldn’t find the heartbeat with it.  That really freaked me out.  So she grabbed another machine and started searching again for what seemed like forever.  At the time I really wished J had come with me to my appointment.  I was so freaked out like maybe there was no baby in there or something had happened. 

But FINALLY, we heard it… ba-bump, ba-bump, ba-bump, ba-bump…

It was so neat (and relieving!) to hear that little heart beating away at about 150 beats per minute.  Apparently the little guy or gal was holed up in the corner, way down at the bottom of my uterus. 

I have a feeling we may have ourselves a good hide-n-seek player.  🙂

 

2 Responses to “OB appointment #2”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Smart kid! If the goop was cold (it always is), who wouldn’t want to hide?


Leave a Reply

