Team Erickson

Here we go!

Shopping at the big girls store and Week 14! April 30, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy — teamerickson @ 8:44 am

Well, it’s about that time.  No more normal clothes for this girl. 

I wore a pair of pre-pregnancy pants to work the other day.  They were a little snug, but nothing to complain about.  If they were snug just because I’d gained a few pounds or eaten too much at lunch, I don’t think there would have been a problem at all.  But pregnancy is different.

Because of the snug pants, I wound up with a good bit of nausea and even a little headache by the end of the day.  I can’t guarantee it was the pants, but I was super uncomfortable all day, so either way I’m sticking to looser clothes from here on out.

I can still wear some of my normal clothes that were previously too big for me, and my mom got me a few things while we were in Vegas.  My friend Heather gave me a couple of tops and a cute pair of capri jeans.  And my friend Keturah is letting me borrow a whole heap of her maternity clothes.  So it seems I am set for now! 

I also ordered this super cute dress online the other day!

Now I can’t wait till I actually start looking like I’m pregnant, instead of like I ate too much at the lunch buffet.  😦

In other news, I’m feeling pretty great!  I think some of my energy is beginning to return, now that I’m in my second trimester.  Baby seems to be doing well.  We’re 14 weeks along and he or she is about 4 inches now!  Wowee.  I haven’t felt any movement just yet, but that may not come till around 20 weeks or even a little later.  Baby has a fresh coat of hair all over his or her body to keep warm.  This will stay until the baby fat starts to grow in.  I am told that from here on out most of the big parts of the baby are in place and now its just time for growing! 

Interesting fact: Pregnant women have supressed immune systems so their bodies won’t reject the baby.  This is why they get sick a whole lot more often.  Isn’t that fascinating?!  I’ve already had a good long cold and a bout of the 24 hour flu since being pregnant.  Good to know there’s a reason behind all that.

 

2 Responses to “Shopping at the big girls store and Week 14!”

  1. Cass Says:

    I think that is interesting about the immune systems as well. I couldn’t believe it when I got my cold, I haven’t been sick in a really long time. When I looked into it more I read the same thing and it made so much sense to me. I knew the pregnancy had to have something to do with it!
    Glad to hear you are getting you energy back! I am really looking forward to that!!!

  2. gramma Says:

    Some of these theories seem a little strange.
    but I.ve lived long enough to know they will probably change again.
    Glad to hear your knee is improving so much.
    Mobility is a must when trying to keep up with a baby
    luv u, gram


Leave a Reply

