Team Erickson

Here we go!

Holy Heartburn Batman!! June 7, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy — teamerickson @ 9:43 am

Well this is one symptom I could definitely live without. 

So far, I’ve mostly gotten the good symptoms of pregnancy.  No lady time of the month, thicker hair, longer nails, glowing skin, fun little baby bump, etc.

THEN…

Friday afternoon I began to have some heartburn and indigestion.  It was fairly mild and I was able to get on with my day well enough.

I went to sleep late Friday night, setting my alarm for 5:45am because I was walking in the 5k Denver Heart Walk on Saturday morning.  I would be tired, but fine for the walk.

THEN…

Around 3am I woke up with really bad painful agonizing TOTALLY RAGING! heartburn.

Oh my word at the heartburn!

It was like the devil himself was locked in my chest with his fiery burning pitchfork, and he had teamed up with his new side-kick — the dragon from Sleeping Beauty. 

 

I got up and stumbled around and finally found the Tums.  Took about 4 of those (though it could have been more considering my lack of total cognizance at the time) and tried to go back to bed.  I was awake for the next 30 minutes until the pain was dull enough for me to sleep.

So the next day I read my What to Expect book and found out all the things I can do for heartburn.  One of the major ones is to not eat too much too fast.  I’m pretty sure that was my problem.  So I’m resolved to chew slower and allow my body to digest one small meal at a time. 

So far it’s working.

 

8 Responses to “Holy Heartburn Batman!!”

  1. Kimbo Says:

    Oh, so sorry, Gina! Heartburn was THE worst!!! I couldn’t have ANYthing I liked to eat… Mexican food, pizza, spaghetti, terrible when you’re pregnantly craving things!

    I carried Tums on me at ALL times and discovered towards the end of the pregnancy that Gaviscon did a much more thorough job for me of relieving the burn. It tasted AWFUL at first, but didn’t leave a lingering aftertaste like Tums. Take four and chug some water – then if you have some persistent acid take ONE Tums instead of chewing a handful.

    Good luck! Once I had that guy out of me I didn’t have heartburn at all (until yesterday when I had a little tiny bit that was NOTHING, not even worth taking any antacid over)! So there’s hope, and it all hinges on the big day when you get to meet your little one!

    • teamerickson Says:

      Ooo, good tips Kimbo! Gaviscon… I will have to pick some of that up. So far the heartburn has only been that one day, but I suspect I shall see more of it sometime in the next 142+ days. 🙂

  2. Heather Stjern Says:

    haha Gina. You are HILLARIOUS! Sorry to hear about the heartburn. I hope it gets better. Miss you tons girl! Are you gonna have a baby shower in Wa? Let me know if you are!

    • teamerickson Says:

      Heather! So glad you’re reading. 🙂 Thanks for the comment! Not sure if we’re going to do anything in WA. I think we’ll visit one time this summer though, will let you know! Miss you!

  3. Caroline Says:

    Sorry to hear about the heartburn. So, did you go ahead and walk the next day? I think I would have stayed in bed after all that.

    • teamerickson Says:

      Actually I did do the walk the next day. I can’t belive I did! But I felt like I needed to be there, so I went. And I actually ended up feeling better! I think walking helped with the indigestion, getting the good juices flowing again. 🙂 Miss you Mom Erickson!

  4. Bonnie Hodgkiss Says:

    Dear Gina,
    I loved the pictures of the blazing heart and the fire breathing dragon! This is a fun blog! I know I am a bit proud of my kids anyway, but I am really enjoying reading your experiences.
    Heather mentioned a shower in Washington. I thought about it. When you come in August, I think we already have enough going on. I don’t know if you guys will be coming here anytime soon after that, but I will keep it in mind. Love, Mom

    • teamerickson Says:

      Thanks Mom! I’m so glad you read my blog! 🙂

      I know what you mean about being super busy the weekend we’re there in WA. We’ve got a lot going on with family stuff already.

      Can’t wait to see you guys!


Leave a Reply

