Team Erickson

Here we go!

Weekly Update – 24 weeks! July 9, 2010

Filed under: Belly Pictures,Pregnancy,Weekly Updates — teamerickson @ 9:36 am

How far along?: 24 weeks!  So I’m in the midst of my 6th month.  Only 16 weeks left to go!

Maternity clothes: Still loving the maternity clothes.  And still loving the normal clothes that stretch so I can fit into them! 

Stretch marks: Still none spotted yet, thank God! 

Sleep:  Definitely did not get enough this week.  There were a couple of nights I stayed up a little later than normal.  And J had a flare up of THE GOUT this week (too much red meat and beer on the 4th of July) which kept him awake all night on Tuesday, which kept me awake all night on Tuesday.  So yes, I will be taking a couple of naps this weekend.

Best moment this week: Our house was a wreck last night when I got home.  A total wreck.  J had stayed home from work for 2 days because of THE GOUT and he wasn’t in any shape to clean because of his foot.  And I was just plain tired.  So our house was a mess. 

I didn’t get home until 7:oopm because I stayed late at work, so I had 2 hours to make dinner, eat dinner, and clean the house last night because we have friends coming over tonight.  So I went upstairs and changed and went back downstairs and started doing some of the piled up dishes from the week.  And I started crying.  Real bad.  Just bawling my head off.  I just felt totally overwhelmed and (did I mention?) tired. 

J hobbled downstairs on his gouty foot and hugged me and asked what was wrong and I just explained how I felt totally overwhelmed.  And he immediately started hobbling all around the house picking up the living room, clearing off the dining room table, taking all our basement remodel supplies downstairs, vacuuming, sweeping, mopping the floors, and even cleaning the bathroom!!!  It was just so sweet of him to hobble around for me.  If you’ve ever had THE GOUT real bad, you know this was a really big deal.  So I finished doing all the dishes and then he even helped me dry them and put them away.  Then I made dinner and we ate together. 

After dinner J asked me to get him a popsicle out the freezer.  I got up and grabbed the last one for him and brought it over and sat back down.  He immediately stood up and walked hobbled back over to the freezer and pulled out one of God’s greatest gifts to humankind: Frozen Yogurt from Yogurtland.  (For all you CO peeps, it’s self-serve just like in CA, and it’s on the southwest corner of University and Dry Creek!)  Apparently, when he asked me to get him the popsicle, he thought I’d see the frozen yogurt in there.  He had gotten it earlier in the day (he had a scheduled dentist appt. for a crown) just for me because he knew I was having a tough week.  Oh my word, that just really made my day and made me want to cry all over again.  What a sweet and thoughtful husband I have!  I feel so blessed.

Worst Moment this week: Having to wait FOREVER at my Dr. appointment.  See yesterday’s post.  It wasn’t that terrible, but it was a long wait.

Movement: Baby has days where he or she moves a TON and then days where I don’t really feel anything.  Last night baby was moving side to side like a pinball in my tummy while I was trying to fall asleep.  But I don’t really mind.  It’s a nice reminder that everything is ok.  On the 4th of July we went to a BBQ with some friends and baby was moving a little in the evening, so some of the girls got to feel him or her move around and kick and do somersaults.  It’s so fun!

Food cravings/aversions:  Mmmmm, frozen yogurt from Yogurtland.  I love the tart flavors especially.  I like to mix plain tart with the passion fruit lemonade tart.  Then for toppings I add strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, Fruity Pebbles (trust me on this one!), a couple of gummy bears, and one or two sour gummy worms.  Oh what a treat!  No big aversions this week, though I did make skillet ziti for dinner one night and now I don’t want to touch the leftovers.  Blech!

Belly Button in or out?: Definitely in, but it is beginning to flatten just a little.

What I miss: The lake.  Specifically going to the lake on the 4th of July.  CO doesn’t have a whole lot of lakes nearby that you can swim in that aren’t freezing cold.  I miss Gravelly Lake and going to Howie and Patty’s for the 4th when I was a kid.  Oh, and the fireworks show that the Weyerhaeuser’s (yes, those Weyerhaeuser’s) would put on from their house across the lake every year.  The best ever!!

What I am looking forward to:  My mom is coming to visit in 2 weeks!!  She’ll be here for my baby shower.  I’m so excited to see her!

Milestones: Baby is getting fatter.  So is mom, but let’s not talk about that for now.  🙂  He or she is putting on some serious weight now.  All that cute baby fat piling on will make his or her skin not so transparent.  Baby has hair on the head now, but it’s white (crazy!) because there’s no pigment in it yet.  He or she is over a foot long and around a pound and a half!  And the face is almost fully formed.  It’s still tiny and needs some good chunky fat on it, but it’s mostly complete now!  Can’t wait to see my cute little baby!

Symptoms:  The usual.  Tired.  Chunky.  Lots of potty time.

And the BABY BUMP!!

From the front...

 

My bump. My bump my bump my bump. My bump my bump my bump. My lovely lady lump. Check it out.

 

Whoa mama. Gettin' big!

 

3 Responses to “Weekly Update – 24 weeks!”

  1. Cass Says:

    You look great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  2. teamerickson Says:

    This is from my mom: 🙂

    Awesome pictures! It is great to be able to view all the parts of the baby to see if they are normal. He/she looks like a fully formed baby. The view of the palate is important due to a birth defect called cleft palate. It is often accompanied by a cleft lip. It causes major complications for sucking and swallowing. This deformity occurs in the first trimester as a result of some kind of interruption in fetal development. It looks like the palate and lip are perfectly formed. This little one is an amazing gift! Love, Nana Bonnie


Leave a Reply

