Team Erickson

Here we go!

Weekly Update – 27 weeks! July 30, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy,Weekly Updates — teamerickson @ 5:35 pm

How far along?:  27 weeks!  13 more to go!  And this coming week I will enter the third trimester.  Oh joy.

Maternity clothes:  I love this cute pink maternity dress I found at Gap.  It’s so comfy, like Tshirt material.  Wore it yesterday and was cool and comfy all day, not to mention stylish for work. 

Stretch marks: Still none spotted yet, thank God! 

Sleep:  It’s just ok.  I keep waking up over and over again in the middle of the night.  And those weird pregnancy dreams.  So disturbing.  And vivid.  And real.  I wake up sometimes and have to look around and remember who I am, who my husband is, where I live, and that I’m pregnant. 

Best moment this week:  Laying poolside with mom on Monday.  So fun!  We took a trip to the local pool and had such a great time beating the heat.  Also, Monday night J took me out for a little date night dinner.  It was really sweet of him, especially since he’s the one who had to work all day while I got to relax with mom.

Tuesday I saw the movie Eclipse with some gal pals from work, so fun!  And Thursday J and I saw Dinner for Schmucks with some church friends.  What a great week!

Worst Moment this week:  Oh the comments are really starting to flow in now.  People, have you ever been pregnant?  Or had a pregnant wife?  Or sister?  Or friend?  Seriously, think about what comes out of your mouth before you say it.

Like, “Are you sure there’s not two in there?!”  Really lady?  Really?!  Come on. 

Or , “Oh, I thought your due date was a lot sooner than that!”  Hmmm, like next week?  What exactly are you trying to say?

And my personal favorite from this week, “Wow, you’re going to be as big as a house by your due date!”  Oh, super.  Thanks for that word of encouragement, brother.

ALL THREE of these statements were made just this week.  Nice.

Movement:  Well things certainly are getting tighter in there for our little one.  I can feel a whole lot more.  And it’s fun to play the guessing game about which body part is poking out at which time.  Bum or head?  Elbow or knee?  Foot or hand?  

J has gotten a little more excited about the whole thing, which is a big change from his initial reaction on movement.  🙂

ALSO, a milestone, I can actually SEE my stomach move.  That is crazy.  Alien.

Food cravings/aversions:  Hmmm… Fruit, eggs, and J’s homemade BBQ chicken! 

Belly Button in or out?: Definitely in, but we’re getting flatter by the week.  I don’t know that the thing will ever “pop” because I have a sort of flat belly button.  I was asking mom about it this weekend (since we have the same belly button) and she said her’s never really popped either, just turned kind of flat and black and blue.  That’s gross.  Maybe I’ll take a picture and show you all if it happens to me.  If you’re lucky.  But no promises.

What I miss:  I’m going to have to say sleep again.  And I really missed a nice glass of red wine this week too.  Sounds so nice and relaxing.  But, sadly, not the greatest for baby.

What I am looking forward to:  Camping!  We’re going to have such a great time!  Can’t wait for s’mores and (well done) hot dogs!  And J and Phil are going to make some tri-tip and chicken on Saturday!  It’s going to be so gourmet.  And I’m really looking forward to a good warm afternoon nap in the tent.  Those are the BEST!

Milestones:  Seeing the tum tum move!  Also, baby is over 2 lbs!  He or she is around 15 inches from head to heel.  And baby should recognize my voice and even J’s voice by now!  So we need to make sure to be nice with our words.  🙂  Baby’s taste buds are totally developed now, and baby has more taste buds right now than he or she will ever have outside the womb!

Symptoms:  Belching.  Oh the belching.  Sore hips.  Tossing and turning.  And for the first week, a tiny bit of lower back pain.  Wowzers.

 

2 Responses to “Weekly Update – 27 weeks!”

  1. Bonnie Hodgkiss Says:

    Thanks for the great hospitality John and Gina and all your friends! It was good spend some time with you during the pregnancy. Walking Norm was a treat for me too. Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

