Team Erickson

Here we go!

Weekly Update – 29 weeks! August 13, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy,Weekly Updates — teamerickson @ 8:13 am

BABY GENDER POLL IS TIED AT 13 VOTES FOR BOY AND 13 VOTES FOR GIRL!  If you haven’t voted yet, now’s the time to make it count!  🙂

How far along?:  29 weeks!  11 more to go!  And we’re down to being in the 70’s as far as days left.  It’s getting more real by the day.

Maternity clothes:  Skirts and dresses.  That’s all I want.  Nothin’ else.  Oh, except for maybe a nice pair of really loose yoga pants when I’m lounging at home.  Oh, and a sweatshirt when it’s cold and rainy outside.  But that’s it. 

Stretch marks: Stretch mark scare was a one-time thing, so I still don’t have any stretch marks!  But I’m not counting them out.  Got ’em during those crazy puberty years, so I’m sure I can get them again.

Sleep:  I actually slept through an entire night without even getting up to go potty this week!  It was weird.  The alarm woke me up, not the baby or my bladder or my aching hips.  It was weird.  We’ve been doing a lot of work on the basement this week, though, so I think that must be why I’m sleeping so well.

Best moment this week:  J took me out for dinner “just because” on Wednesday night.  I was tired, and totally willing to cook, but he took me out anyway.  Then, of course, we went back home to work on the house.  But it was nice to not have to make dinner and do dishes.  Good treat!

AND!  It was really good to hear I don’t have gestational diabetes this week, and that all my other levels are normal too.  Since Type II diabetes runs in my family, I know I have a higher chance of getting it, especially during pregnancy.  So I’m praising God for this good news!!

Also, I am finally getting around to finishing all my thank you notes!  So if you’ve sent me something and I haven’t thanked you yet, it will be coming soon, and I apologize for the delay!  🙂

Worst Moment this week:  Had a really kind of BORING week at work.  It seems like time is standing still here sometimes, which is never good news when you’re a gift processor at a foundation.  Yikes.  But we’re fine with numbers.  It’s just boring this week.  Hate that feeling.

Movement:  Continued movement, though I can tell it’s getting crowded in there.  Baby can’t do flips and turns as much any more.  Had some big movements the other night just after getting into bed.  Baby was excited about something!  Still fun to watch my stomach move.

Food cravings/aversions:  Still with the hard-boiled eggs.  It’s a habit I just can’t kick.  I also love love love dairy.  Love it.  Milk, yogurt, cheese, all things dairy. 

Belly Button in or out?:  Still getting flatter and flatter.  And now it’s turning a sort of purple-ish color. 

What I miss:  A big juicy steak.  It’s not that I can’t have it, it’s just that I haven’t in a while.  Need to get me one of those.  Maybe next week.

What I am looking forward to:  We’re taking a trip to Washington soon!  We’re going for my grandpa’s memorial and a family reunion on my mom’s side.  I won’t have spare time to get together with friends while I’m there (this seems like it’s always the case when we visit!  Booo!) but it will be a good time to hang with mom and dad and David and Jo and Lee.

Milestones:  Whoo-hoo for baby fat!  Baby is beginning to get chunky this week!  He or she is forming white fat (energy), as opposed to brown fat (temperature regulation).  Can’t wait to pinch those cheekies!  Baby is also developing buds for permanent teeth this week.  Previously, it was just the baby teeth forming, but now it’s the permanent ones.  Yay for that news!

And a new milestone for mom:  I had my first Braxton-Hicks contraction last night while I was in bed trying to sleep!  It was weird.  My “baby area” all of a sudden got really tight and stayed that way for about a minute.  It only happened once, but it was definitely a contraction.  Something I read the other day said that the more Braxton-Hicks contractions you have before labor, the less actual labor you will have, because the false contractions still do the work of thinning out your cervix and getting baby ready for birth.  Very interesting.  I’m not counting on it, but it would be nice.  So bring on the false labor!  🙂  Ok, maybe.  Not really.  Sort of?

Symptoms:  Oh, ya know, the usual.  Tired.  Pregnant.  Huge lump of a stomach.  Strangely energetic times of “nesting” inserted here and there.  It’s a roller coaster.

 

2 Responses to “Weekly Update – 29 weeks!”

  1. Bonnie Hodgkiss alias Grandma Says:

    We are so looking forward to seeing you kids and Johnny! It will be a wonderful family get-together with all our kids! Love, Mom

  2. teamerickson Says:

    Me too! Can’t wait to see you guys!


Leave a Reply

