Team Erickson

Here we go!

Holy Mackerel. August 17, 2010

Filed under: Home,Pregnancy — teamerickson @ 8:34 am

Remodeling is rough.  I’m wiped out.  We finally finished the main room of the basement last night.

Here’s what we did this weekend:

We started with sanding. 

Then we tarped and taped everything.

Then we textured the walls using an air compressor and a hopper.

Then we scraped the walls (for the knockdown look).

Then we sanded again.

Then we wiped the walls down.

Then we primed.

Then we painted one coat on the ceiling and one coat on the walls.

(Then we watched the Broncos lose their first pre-season game to the Bengals.  Booo.)

Then last night we painted the final coat on the ceiling and the final coat on the walls.

Then we cleaned everything up, including getting some of the drywall mud out of the carpet.

Then we put the washer and dryer back and I started a load of laundry.

And the crazy thing is that we have get to do this all over again with the basement bedroom.

Oh, and we’re also going to paint the bathroom down there too.  Joy.

I can’t even begin to tell you how many knots have formed in my shoulder.  Oh, and my hands are officially out of commission because they’re numb from all the painting.  I’m not kidding.  And don’t even get me started on my feet. 

Over 29 weeks pregnant and still involved in all major home renovation.

Hey, at least I’m not bored right?

I keep telling J, he’d better consider himself lucky.  Not all pregnant ladies would be so nice.

 

4 Responses to “Holy Mackerel.”

  1. Kelly Says:

    i see a massage in your future. and one for john if he will give in and allow it. Russian perhaps?

  2. Dad Says:

    Imagine how your great grandmother felt, no electricity,no running water, outside toliet with sears roebuck catalog, wood stove, wood floors, single pane windows, and about 20 deg. outside.
    I’m impressed with your knowledge of what it is your doing, way to go you two. Sounds like things are going well,makeing progress. Good things generally don’t come easy,but the satisfaction of a job well done is worth the effort.

    Life is good (In our world)

    Love Dad

    • teamerickson Says:

      I keep thinking about my ancestors too. Pioneer ladies. If they could do that, then I can certainly remodel my basement, go camping, and do a whole-heck-of-a-lot of housework. My mantra has become “I’m not broken or sick, just pregnant.” 🙂

      Our knowledge has come mostly from google and a guy at J’s work who did construction. Oh, and a guy in the paint section at Home Depot who textured his basement walls last year. So we’re getting it. And it looks ok. Not professional. Definitely a DIY job, but hey, we saved a whole heap of $$!

      Can’t wait for you to come see it finished in Novemeber!!


Leave a Reply

