Team Erickson

Here we go!

Weekly Update – Week 31 (I AM SO LATE IN POSTING THIS!) August 30, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy,Weekly Updates — teamerickson @ 12:39 pm

Well I figured I should type this up and get it out since it’s only 3 days late.  Can I use the pregnant excuse here?

How far along?:  31 weeks!  9 more to go!  We are in the single digits now as far as weeks go.  That is exciting!  And we’re in the low 60’s with days!  And we’re 2 months away!!

Maternity clothes:  Oh boy, some of them are getting tighter now.  I still have a ton of options, but some of the bands in the jeans are too uncomfortable for me to wear.  I highly support buying maternity clothes with the thin skin-colored nylon-ish bands, rather than the thick blue fabric bands.  They hug me a little too tight right now.  Claustrophobia anyone?

Stretch marks:  Still no stretch marks!!!  I can’t believe it.  But I’m not getting my hopes up about not getting them.  I know I’ve still got more growing to do.

Sleep:  More crazy days, too little sleep.  And then there’s the waking up in the morning with one arm totally numb because I’ve been on that side for too long.  So weird.  I’m just trying to get through my shower, and I can’t even lift the shampoo bottle.  Or squeeze it for that matter.

Best moment this week:  Broncos defeated Steeler Nation!  Well, that was technically last night and not part of last week, but I felt the need to mention it right here, right now.  Go Broncos!

But really, the best moments from this week were spent in WA with my family.  It was so good to see everyone!  J and I had a wonderful time.  I will write more about that later this week.

Worst Moment this week:  Had a conflict with a co-worker.  I don’t like being mad at people, but I was really ticked this week.  I got so bugged about it, in fact, that I ended up crying in my supervisor’s office, and then in my manager’s office.  I’d like to chalk it up to pregnancy hormones, but I think this one goes beyond that. 

Movement:  The stretching was really uncomfortable yesterday, and it actually gave me a stomach ache for a while.  Movement is fun, but stretching and pushing on my organs is not so fun.

Food cravings/aversions:  Of course, the eggs.  Oh the eggs.  And I’m really craving a lot of protein lately.  I think I’ll have J make me some BBQ chicken sometime this week.

Belly Button in or out?:  Still getting flatter and flatter.   

What I miss:  Gonna go with sleep again this week.  And I have been told that I may as well get used to it because I will miss sleep for the rest of my life.  You don’t sleep with a baby, then toddlers and kids get up somewhere between 6 or 7am.  Teenagers sleep well, but after 13 years of not sleeping you’re just used to getting up early.  Then when your kids are all gone you’re at the point where it’s just literally impossible for you to sleep in.  You have to pee or your body aches or whatever.  It’s a part of getting old.  So.  Sleep.  I miss sleep.

What I am looking forward to:  J’s parents are driving out here as we speak!  They left CA this morning and they’ll be here tomorrow night.  I am so excited to see them!  And J’s dad is all geared up to work on our basement to get it finished.  What a great blessing!  We’re really working hard to get it done before baby is here, so it’s going to be awesome to have some help for a week! 

Milestones:  Hiccups.  Yes, baby has hiccups now.  Usually once a day while I’m relaxing or eating.  It’s a very interesting sensation.  I don’t like it.  Weirds me out.  And of course, baby is continuing to get bigger and bigger.  He or she has entered the true growth spurt phase, so that also means mommy is getting hungrier and hungrier.  (Is hungrier a word?)  And baby is getting chunky!  More fat is beginning to accumulate under baby’s skin.  Can’t wait to pinch those chunky baby thighs!

Symptoms:  Huge belly.  Hot all the time.  Eating more than normal.  Looking like a beached whale when attempting to get up off the floor.  Oh the joys and bliss of the third trimester.

 

5 Responses to “Weekly Update – Week 31 (I AM SO LATE IN POSTING THIS!)”

  1. kelly Says:

    beached whale? not really! Lord have mercy, Gina, you are too much. Yes, your baby is a healthy roundness… but girl you have nice arms and legs. Everything is in proportion and you are not a beached whale. Did you dive into the watermellon yet? Can i bring you anything? Do you need help with anything? Do we get to meet John’s family at church on sunday?

    • teamerickson Says:

      Thanks for the encouragement Kelly. You are so sweet! Haven’t chopped into the watermelon yet. Seriously didn’t have a free second this weekend. I’m thinking either tonight or tomorrow though! Thanks for offering your wonderful help! I can’t think of anything I need right now, but I’ll let you know. And yes, J’s parents should be at church on Sunday!

  2. Kimbo Says:

    GINA!!! I am soooooo excited for you!!!

    Hang in there, girl – these last few weeks can be killer but they will be all but a faint memory once you’re hanging out with your little one. 🙂 I know I was totally miserable from weeks 34-40 but now I don’t remember it at all – I just know that I was, make sense?

    Oh, and my HANDS got numb in the morning toward the end, even when I didn’t sleep on them – both of them. And they hurt! I had to totally take 10 minutes to stretch out all of my fingers in the morning before I could do anything, including using the lever on my recliner which I slept in most nights, or checking the time on my phone. 😉 fun times!

    love you!!!

    • teamerickson Says:

      Haha! Thanks Kimbo! Every once in a while I really need to hear that it’s all going to be worth it. And I am definitely holding on to that thought for dear life!! 🙂 Can’t wait till this is a distant memory. Baby=fun. Pregnancy=sometimes fun but mostly not.

  3. Dad Says:

    The part about sleep should go in the book! Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

