Team Erickson

Here we go!

Weekly Update – 33 weeks! September 10, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy,Weekly Updates — teamerickson @ 10:06 am

How far along?:  33 Weeks!  Only 7 weeks to go!  And 49 days!!

Maternity clothes:  Wearing a bigger pair of maternity jeans today.  Don’t think I’ll be going back to the fun, yet tight, ones from here on out.  But these bigger ones should last till my due date.  And I am comfortable once again!

Stretch marks:  Still no stretch marks!!!  I can’t believe it.  But I’m not getting my hopes up about not getting them.  I know I’ve still got more growing to do. 

Sleep:  I got a TON of sleep over the long Labor Day weekend.  I slept in every day and took naps most days too!  It was so needed.  I have more energy this week because of all that sleep.  I just need to make sure that I don’t ruin it by staying up too late.

Best moment this week:  Having J’s parents here was awesome!  I could not believe how much Larry and J got done on the house!  Larry would be busy on the house all day while we were at work, then J and Larry would team up together and work most evenings too!  It was such a blessing to have Caroline here too, I didn’t have to do dishes all week!  Yay!   And she made us dinner and did a bit of shopping for us too.  Love it! 

Here’s what the guys got done:  Patched the holes in the walls (there were a lot of holes to patch, so this was a big job!), mudding and taping the basement bedroom, sanding the bedroom, texturing the walls and ceiling in the bedroom, painting the bedroom walls (I decided to paint two of the walls with Sherwin Williams Whole Wheat, and the other two walls are Behr Premium Plus, but I can’t remember what the color is called, either Cayman Bay or Catalina Coast, it’s a nice blue), painted all the baseboard, installed all the baseboard on the main floor (big time YAY!), put together the wheelbarrow (it’s been sitting in pieces for about a year now, thanks Larry!), and got rid of ALL of the construction trash in the garage!  (Again, thanks Larry!)

It’s been so nice to feel like this project is ALMOST done!  The only things we need to do are put in the baseboard in the basement bedroom, paint the basement bathroom, and paint the stair hallway on the way down to the basement.  I am so excited that we are so close!!! 

Another great moment: Stepping on the scale for the first time in three weeks and seeing that I’d only gained a pound!  In three weeks!  One tiny pound!  This is good because my weight was piling on REALLY fast my entire second trimester, so having it slow down is definitely not a bad thing.  And I know baby is still getting plenty of nutrients because I haven’t slowed down my eating AT ALL.  🙂

Worst Moment this week:   Ooo, Wednesday baby decided to turn sideways in my stomach.  His or her back is to my belly, butt is on the left side, head on the right.  (I think.)  And he or she is making mommy super uncomfortable!  I actually started to feel kind of sick on Wednesday.  I think it’s because baby is messing with my insides so much.

Movement:  Baby hardly moved at all this weekend!  I mean, he or she moved enough that I knew everything was ok, but there were no real periods of exercise going on in there.  I wonder if baby knows when it’s a weekend and time for rest and relaxation.  🙂  But I was super bummed about this because Grandma Caroline didn’t get to feel baby move at all!  Every time we were home and I was laid out on the couch, baby was taking a nap or something.  There were a couple of times in the early morning or late evening hours when everyone was in bed that baby would start some calisthenics, but for the most part baby and mommy were both catching up on rest.  But soon enough we will all get to hold and play with baby, and that will be fun for all.

Food cravings/aversions:  Ooo I just can’t get enough sugar!  And I hate it!  It’s so terrible for me and the baby.  M&M’s call my name all day long.  Boooooo.  But I love my fruit, so I’m trying to choose that first.  And I just picked up a thing of cottage cheese at the store because it sounded so good!  And it did not disappoint!  Yum!

Belly Button in or out?:  Still getting flatter and flatter.  Creepy.

What I miss:  Turning over, getting up, bending over, reaching down.  All those things.  This belly has become an insurmountable obstacle in many of life’s everyday movements.

What I am looking forward to:  Finishing with our home projects.  Only a couple more things to do! 

Also, I’m really, really, really looking forward to having that “empty” feeling that I’ve heard you get after delivery.  I have felt so bloated this week.  It’s like the feeling you get the first day of your period.  Just FULL.  (Sorry male readers, but it has to be said.)

And one more thing:  I’m looking forward to my next ultrasound in about 4 weeks!!! 

Milestones:  Baby’s immune system has kicked into high gear.  This is great news because baby can now battle a lot of those little icky germs that will attack outside the womb.  My amniotic fluid has reached its max point, which means that jabs and kicks become a bit more painful as baby grows because there’s not as much room or cushion in there.  Baby is  hovering right around 4 or 5 pounds and is somewhere between 17-20 inches long!  That’s nearly full grown!  Baby will almost double in weight in the next seven weeks leading up to delivery.

Symptoms:  Stretching belly, aching back, and here’s a new one – numbness in hands.  This is caused by swelling and excess fluid and it affects you just like carpal tunnel.  I’m lucky that I don’t have any pain along with it, but I do have numbness and tingling.  I have to take breaks and massage my hands every once in a while.

 

3 Responses to “Weekly Update – 33 weeks!”

  1. Dad Says:

    This is really Mom: It was great of Larry and Caroline to pitch in on all the work while they were there! I’m looking forward to seeing the results. I can help paint if need be.
    I can almost see that little baby from your description! It is exciting…only 7 weeks left! Love, Mom

  2. Amanda Says:

    My belly button is flat too!! it is soooo weird! AND when the baby moves around a lot I feel a little nauseated… I guess there’s not much room left in there! 🙂 You look great… can you believe your baby is almost here?! 🙂 You’re going to be a great mommy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

