Team Erickson

Here we go!

Not a lot to say October 5, 2010

Filed under: Potpourri — teamerickson @ 1:25 pm

Well, there’s not a lot to say today, so here’s a list of interesting things.

1.  J got a good case of THE GOUT again.  He’s been controlling it with diet really well, but the Gatorade snuck up on us.  Apparently sugary drinks can bring on an attack, and since he was sick for about a week, he had a week’s worth of Gatorade in his system.  Now I know THE GOUT is a painful thing, but I’m not one to be big on the whole sympathy/empathy/compassion part of loved ones being sick.  (Maybe it’s because mom started making me clean up my own vomit right around the age of 12 or so.  Good ol’ responsibility.)  So I’ve never been one to really “believe” J when he tells me it hurts.  Yeah, I know it hurts.  So does my migraine.  And this baby.  And being a woman.  But I was talking to my sister Jo yesterday, and she was telling me about a conversation with a doctor friend of hers who said THE GOUT is one of the most painful things one can experience in life.  He said it’s right up there with kidney stones and (of all things) labor pains.  (!!!)  So I guess I need to be more sympathetic/empathetic/compassionate since I’m expecting him to do the same for me in the delivery room.

2.  Number one was really wordy.  I don’t think the other things on this list will be as lengthy, so everyone breathe a big sigh of relief.  But I make no guarantees…

3.  I ate some candy corn.  It is my favorite fall treat.  Don’t judge me.

4.  Sister Jo, will you please make these MUFFINS for me?  You are, after all, the baker of the family.

5.  Now that we are on the subject of food, Grandma Hodgkiss, I would really like you to make some of your homemade bran muffins when you come see us!  And Grandma Erickson, your homemade peanut brittle is a holiday necessity, so please make some when you come visit!  Glad I got those food requests out of the way.  🙂

6.  24 days to go.  Twenty-four.  The big 2-4.  And suddenly I’m rushed back to the realization that it may be more like 24 + 14 = 38.  Oh Lord, please no and don’t let it be.

7.  And that reminds me, we are so not ready to have this baby yet.  The car seat is not installed.  My hospital bag has not even begun to pack itself.  The nursery looks like a tornado went through it.  I have washed 3.5 outfits and 1 changing pad cover for baby, but not a single sheet or blanket.  And I don’t think we have any baby wipes yet.  Yeah, that’s a problem. 

And seven is a great number to end up at.  So I will end it there.  (Is anyone still reading this?)  Hope you have a fantastic day!

 

16 Responses to “Not a lot to say”

  1. D Says:

    You make me laugh, Gina…I miss you so much! Love you!

  2. teamerickson Says:

    Thanks D! Miss you too girl!

  3. Kimbo Says:

    Oh, and I am TERRIBLE at feeling sorry for Aaron when he’s sick too. Especially while I was pregnant, now I actually think it may be worse because we are actually both a little sick but guess who still has to breastfeed a baby and take him everywhere??? oh yeah, that’s me. 😛

  4. Dad Says:

    Boy are you are you wound up or what.
    1) I don’t want to busrt your bubble but I’m pretty sure that mom and I never made you clean up your own vomit unless maybe you had stuck your finger down your throat on purpose.

    2)You may want to look up the definition of reciprical and go over that and the gout vs labor pain thing again.

    3)Wow Food is a BIGi IS THIS WEEK.

    4) No comedy this wieek???

    5) I can’t get to seven, but number six is big!!!!!!!

    6) I LOVE YOU!!!!! YOUR DADDY

    • teamerickson Says:

      Yes mom did make me clean up my own vomit and I remember it specifically! I had a case of the flu or something, and I was wearing my cow pajamas and I got it all over the place. Honestly, I don’t blame her for making me clean that one up. It was rough. 🙂 And you have to learn that when you grow up, sometimes you’re the only one around to clean up after yourself. So I learned a good lesson that day. Responsibility. Good call on the reciprocal idea. I’m going to need some good TLC here in a couple weeks. AND I LOVE YOU TOO DAD!

  5. Dad Says:

    Oh ya the bag will pack it’s self and the baby won’t care if the rooms clean or not. But the baby will want the wipes though so have John pick up some of those and then bingo bango your mom will be there and all of these things will happen. She is the tornado hat will make these things happen.

  6. Dad Says:

    This is your Mom.
    I will be happy to make bran muffins. I was planning to ask you what you and John would like to have for meals.
    It sounds like you are getting a bit edgy. Sometimes this is a precursor to labor, or maybe you just need a nap.
    Everything is going to be fine. Besides, its fun to have a few “memorable glitches” to laugh about later. Love, Mom

    • teamerickson Says:

      Yay for bran muffins! Can’t wait! And J would probably love to have some of your chili. He really like that last time we were over!

      Yes, I’m a little more “edgy” lately. Cranky. Sassy. But I fully admit to it. And I think you are right, I could definitely use more naps in my life. Haha!

      See you in 20 days!

  7. Jenn Says:

    Gina,
    As requested —
    Check out http://www.hypnobabies.com/
    I used the self study course.
    My sister in law, Jenny, did this with both her children, and she did not feel any pain with either birth. One was a hospital birth, and one was a home birth. I didn’t do quite as well as her — I eventually felt pain once I was at the hospital (about 9 hrs and 7 cm into it!! Pretty far!) which I attribute to completely losing my concentration and motivation. However I still felt completely in CONTROL and like I said on my blog post, really enjoyed the experience. It was awesome. Anyway, I have no idea how much it costs, since I borrowed Jenny’s materials, but it was great. I have heard it is MUCH better than the program by the “Mongan Method”. Anyway, just some thoughts. Hopefully you are feeling good and confident in these last few weeks left! Praying for a great birthing experience and healthy baby for you 🙂

    • teamerickson Says:

      Thanks so much Jenn! I will have to research that and see if we can make it happen. It sounds a lot like what we’re trying to do with relaxation techniques, and it sounds like it would be a good complement to it. I’m going with theories mostly from the Bradley Method of Husband Coached Childbirth. We’ll see how we do!

  8. Jenn Says:

    Oh and ps. on your post — the hospital will likely give you some diapers and wipes, so don’t stress about that. You can always pick some up on the way home from there 🙂

    Oh and ps.#2 Two weeks overdue is not as bad as it sounds right now. Hopefully you will have that baby closer to the due date, but if not, don’t give in to the induction!!

  9. Kelly Says:

    as far as giving birth early, i religiously remember to charge my phone everynight as to not miss the blessed Gina’s in the labor and delivery group text msg. You keep saying you are ready to go, so I support you in that you are full term and i hope for your sake you dont have to go longer than Oct 29th. 16 days to go!


Leave a Reply

