Team Erickson

Here we go!

Weekly Update – 37 weeks! October 8, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy,Weekly Updates — teamerickson @ 12:14 pm

No worries, I’m still here and still pregnant!

How far along?:  37 weeks!  Only 3 weeks to go!  And 21 days!!  Oh it is getting so close.  Freaks me out.

Maternity clothes:  Still wondering when it will be cold in Denver so I can wear sweatshirts and long pants.  Love those corduroys, but they’re hot!

Stretch marks:  The ones I got last week have become a little darker now.  Booo.  But they’re still just under my belly button, so that’s good.

Sleep:  Much less tossing and turning this week and it’s all thanks to my friend Kiffen!  She let me borrow her Snoogle body pillow and let me tell you it has drastically improved my sleep.  I still have to get up to potty 4 times a night, but I’m no longer waking up to roll over or because one side is numb or what have you.  So I’m still tired, but not as frustrated as last week.

Best moment this week:  J brought me some Yogurt from Yogurtland!  It was so sweet.  He stopped by on his way home from work one night and surprised me.  He said it was for taking such good care of him while he was dealing with the GOUT. 

Other great moment: J and I finally finished the process to be licensed as pastors in our denomination.  We went through the licensing service during our district conference on Wednesday evening.  What an awesome time!

And the best moment!  Seeing baby at our ultrasound Thursday morning.  Great news: Baby is looking like he or she is in great shape.  Heart is beating along at 137 bpm and baby has meconium already stored up for his or her first poopy diaper.  Yay???  Baby is head down (which means he/she is in the best possible position to make an entrance!) and he or she even has hair!  We got to see it on the ultrasound screen.  Fun!   Baby’s head is – get this – in the 99.92 percentile.  As my loving husband J so sweetly pointed out, “Wow, so that means out of 1,000 babies, only 8 of them will have heads bigger than ours.”  Hmmm, thanks for that lovely insight.  Baby’s weight was clocked at 7lbs 5oz, but that measurement can be off as much as a pound on either side.  And great news for me: I’m already dilated 2-3 centimeters (out of 10), and I’m 80% effaced (out of 100%), so that means my body has already done part of the work for labor and delivery!  Yay body!

Worst Moment this week:   None that I can think of, but work has been really busy this week.  I’m trying to finish up everything that needs to be in place before I go into labor, so I’m rushing around a lot!  I’m not taking off work early (unless it just gets to be too much) so I pretty much plan on going into labor in my chair.  Woohoo!

Movement:  Baby has slowed down considerably cause it is getting super duper crowded in there.  But I’m still feeling it every now and then.  Especially when baby wants to stretch out and jams his or her little tushy right up into my rib cage.  What a sweetie.

Food cravings/aversions:  Candy and protein.  Trying to go for the protein more often.  🙂  And I’m finding I can only eat small meals at a time.  If I eat too much, I make myself sick.

Belly Button in or out?:  Still getting flatter and flatter.  Creepy.

What I miss:  Being able to do all sorts of housework and lifting heavy objects up and down stairs.  Now my back aches and I’m just too tired to get things done a lot of the time.

What I am looking forward to:  Baby coming out.  Also, we have our Childbirth class at the hospital this Saturday.  It’s an all day thing and should be really informative for what to expect when we’re in the hospital.

Milestones:  Baby is OFFICIALLY FULL TERM this week!  That’s great news!  It means that baby is no longer considered premature if I go into labor at any time now.  And his or her lungs and other important body systems are likely developed enough that baby will thrive outside of the womb.  I’m not in a rush to get baby out, since there’s still quite a bit of preparation for us to do, but it’s nice to know that if baby comes before we expect it, he or she will likely be just fine and dandy.

Symptoms:  Back aches.  Numb hands, and sometimes a little soreness of the hands too.  Feet and lower legs are RED.  Nothing to worry about, just a sign of pregnancy.

Side note:  Baby has hiccups as I’m typing this.  Cute!

 

6 Responses to “Weekly Update – 37 weeks!”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Yep, hang in there Gina and baby E! It’s hard to believe we’re so close!

  2. Dad Says:

    Dear Gina and John,
    It is getting so exciting! I can see our little grandbaby by your description.
    I have a cold that came on Saturday. It will be a while before I will be able to be around all of you. No worries. God has things under control.
    I got my flu shot on Friday. Love, Mom

  3. Kelly Says:

    i’ve noticed you have said you are going to go into labor in your chair. please dear God let one of your co workers be around when this is happening and convince you to stop sending emails so you can deliver in your Parker Hospital Suite instead. Amen.


Leave a Reply

