Team Erickson

Here we go!

then they stripped my brains out October 21, 2010

Filed under: Pregnancy — teamerickson @ 11:00 am

Welp, I’m still here.

Went to the Dr. yesterday around 3pm and had them strip my membranes.

And now I can tell you first hand that the stripping of the membranes is terribly uncomfortable.  I wouldn’t say it’s super painful or what-have-you, but I would say it’s just really, really uncomfortable.  I think baby thought so too, because he or she started moving all around when the Dr. was stripping them, and baby did not stop moving until sometime after I went to bed!  So from 3pm-10pm baby was rockin’ and rollin’ around in there.  And let me tell you, that is a long time for baby to be continuously moving, especially at this stage where it’s so darn cramped in there.

So anyway, mom went with me to the Dr. and we got McDonald’s ice cream cones afterwards. 

It kind of reminded me of when I was young (early elementary school) and had a plantar wart on my foot.  My mom would drag me to the Dr. so he could pick at it with dull tweezers and freeze it and make me cry.  I’m sure that whole crying bit was his ultimate goal.  And afterwards we’d stop by the Brown Cow for a milkshake.  And that made everything all mostly better.

After ice cream we stopped by the mall and walked around the American Girl doll store.  Wowee.  It’s nice and all, but I don’t think I’ll be buying my daughter’s doll a ski outfit with gear for $60 anytime soon.  Or ever.  Thank you very much.  Then we walked over to Borders and picked up a complete manual for what goes on with kiddos from birth to 5 years.  It’s got way more information than I think I’ll ever need, but that’s what makes it so great.

When we got home mom made us a delicious walnut, pear, and spinach salad with tomato soup and some hearty whole grain bread.  I’m really glad I didn’t have to cook because by this time I was feeling yucky and crampy.  So I laid out on the couch and mom and J worked together in the kitchen.  It was so nice!  Then we watched some TV and went to bed.

So that was my day.

Now I’m back to the daily grind.  Just sittin’ around waitin’ for something to happen…

 

2 Responses to “then they stripped my brains out”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry for all that yuk you went through yesterday. So glad your mom is there. What a blessing she is!!

  2. […] dilated anymore and check on how things are going. I think they’ll ask if I want them to strip my membranes to see if we can get the girl to come out, but as I said earlier, I’m not quite ready since […]


Leave a Reply

