Team Erickson

Here we go!

Oh my poor neglected blog December 2, 2010

Filed under: Gunnar — teamerickson @ 10:52 pm

So sorry to all of you who have checked in over the past few weeks to find a great big pile of nothing on my blog.  I was so faithful before I had this baby.  But hey, at least I’m not titling this blog, “Oh my poor neglected baby.”  Cause that would be really sad. 

So, here we go. 

Updates.  Gunnar weighed in at 9 lbs 10 oz  at his appointment on Monday.  Whoo!  This boy loves to eat.  He gained 30 oz in 20 days.  Normal weight gain is more like half an ounce to one ounce per day.  And my little overachiever is gaining at a rate of 1.5 oz per day.  Heck yes.  Likes to eat, just like his mama.

So with health we are looking pretty good.  The Dr. was a little concerned about possible acid reflux, but we’re still not sure about that.  She’s having me go on a NON-dairy-eggs-spicy foods-chocolate-caffeine-fried foods-gassy foods diet.  Yeah, so pretty much ANYTHING I would actually want to put in my mouth is not allowed now.  I thought I could skip all that saying no to foods after I had the baby.  Apparently not when you’re breastfeeding.  Booooo.

Speaking of breastfeeding, I’m sure you’ll all be relieved to hear that it’s going pretty well.  Yes and Amen.  The first three weeks were really really really difficult.  Then (thanks to my good friend/lactation extraordinaire, Megan) we both kind of figured it out, so we’re rolling along fairly smoothly now.  And thank you Lord (and mom!) for the breastpump.  Ok, that’s all I’m going to say about that.  Gentlemen, you can continue reading without fear.

We’re fairly well adjusted now.  Families have visited and gone back home and we’re settling in to normal life, whatever that is.  J is back at work, and I plan to go back in January.  So we’re just figuring it out from here.

Gunnar is finally sleeping in his own room.  We started that on Sunday night.  He’s still in the bassinet though, and let me tell you I love that thing.  It vibrates, and Gunnar just LOVES it.  Puts him right out.  So I think we’ll keep him in that till he’s 5 or so.  (No, not really.)  We are all getting waaay more sleep now that he’s in his room.  Oh praise the Lord.  I don’t think I’ve slept this well since before I got pregnant.  And the little guy is great about sleep.  He goes down sometime between 10-11pm, then wakes up to eat around 3am, goes back down, and wakes up again around 7am, goes back down (AGAIN!) and sleeps till around 9am or so.  Oh, mommy loves her little sleeper!

So here are a couple of links to some photo albums on Facebook.  You should be able to access these even if you don’t have a Facebook account!  Yay!

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=88872&id=1082904450&l=09784076ba

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=89939&id=1082904450&l=e84b60bb81

I also have a couple of videos on Facebook, but for some reason I can’t figure out how to add them on here.  So if you’re my Facebook friend, check those out too!!

Tomorrow, or maybe Saturday at the latest, I will add the BIRTH STORY on here!  So check back soon for that!

And I will leave you with this…

 

One Response to “Oh my poor neglected blog”

  1. Mom & Dad Hodgkiss Says:

    I just want to pick him up! (m)
    “Somebody please get me something to eat!” (d)


Leave a Reply

