Team Erickson

Here we go!

TWOsday Update Week 11 October 4, 2011

Filed under: TWOsday Updates — teamerickson @ 12:34 pm

Welp, here we go again! We’re going to have another baby, so this gives me reason to blog again. FINALLY. Total procrastinator, I know. In fact, I’ve surprised myself that I’m even taking this up again with my crazy life right now. Here’s the thing though, I am the youngest child. So I know what its like to not have as many baby pictures or stories in the baby book or new clothes. Whatever. So I want this little baby #2 to know that mama and daddy still love him or her as much as we loved the first. Hopefully that will show in my blogging updates. If not, baby, we still LOVE you to pieces and are so happy you’re going to join our family! So we’ll see how this goes…

I’m calling this TWOsday Update because my weeks change on Tuesdays, and this is baby number TWO, so TWOsday it is.

Here’s the dish – Baby #2 is due April 24th. And that is all I know. We are going to find out the sex of the baby ahead of time, which should take place sometime around Christmas. Merry Christmas to me!

How far along?:  11 weeks. Only 29 to go? So far away!

Maternity clothes:  Oh I’m in ’em. I’ve heard from all my friends that sometime around 6 weeks with your second pregnancy, your body just kicks into high gear and starts rapidly expanding. Now that I’m pregnant again, I’ve found this to be the absolute truth. I’m just thankful to God (and Keturah and Melissa and Jonelle and Kiffen) that I have a ton of cute maternity clothes to wear right now. In fact, I have more maternity jeans than I have regular jeans. Kinda sad actually, but it makes me feel better about getting bigger!

Stretch marks:  No new ones to report. Thank goodness! The ones from last time have almost disappeared, but I’m betting they’ll come back with a vengeance sometime during the 3rd trimester.

Sleep:  Oh goodness gracious. Thank you to Kiffen for letting me use her maternity pillow again!! I can actually sleep comfortably! However, I have the CRAZIEST dreams during pregnancy. This leads to lots of inner turmoil during sleep, and a feeling that I’ve never had quite enough of it. For instance, last night I dreamed that I was home with Gunnar and got a call from J that he’d been taken off to jail because he was a suspect in a homicide case. I had no idea when my husband was coming home. It was all so crazy. When I finally woke up from that dream I had to actually look around and see J and hear him snoring heavily breathing to believe it wasn’t real. And thank God it wasn’t real…

Best moment this week:  I actually PLANNED a menu and SHOPPED for all our food for the week. Yes, people, that is correct. I am so very proud of myself! It was a laborious task, but I DID IT! (This is normally not a challenge at all for me, but food is a subject I don’t like to think about right now, so this is a big deal, people. A BIG DEAL!)

Worst Moment this week:  Realizing I’d planned Gunnar’s birthday on the same day we do our church staff quarterly planning meeting. Oops! Had to change it. Ah well. I guess that’s not bad for a “worst moment.”

Movement:  The only movement involving my belly right now is expansion. Sad, but a new baby is sooo worth it!

Food cravings/aversions:  Oh my word at the aversions. Everything. Chicken. Burgers. Pizza. Bread (unless it’s toasted). Corn chips. Avocado (my usual fav!). Even cheese sometimes. You name it, I’ve probably been averse to it at one time or another. This week I’ve craved potato chips, hot dogs, apple juice, and Red Vines. I know. I know.

Belly Button in or out?:  Oh its in all right. It would be total madness if it were out already!

What I miss:  Energy. This one has really hit me. I think it has a lot to do with being a mom already and having to take care of an (almost) one year old who is in to EVERYTHING! Thank God for baby gates. I can keep him locked up in the living room while I lie on the couch and try to stay awake. 🙂

What I am looking forward to:  Actually looking pregnant, instead of like I ate one a few too many donuts.

Milestones:  This baby is already TWO INCHES long! Holy smokes! He or she is developing nail beds for little fingernails, hair follicles, and ovaries if its a girl. No more webbed hands for this baby as the fingers and toes have begun to separate. He or she has ears, a nose, and a teeny little tongue that I’m sure Gunnar will show him or her how to stick out at mama one day.

Symptoms:  Gross. Feeling yucky. Gagging when I brush my teeth. Not wanting to eat anything. Pants refusing to button. Continual tiredness. Oh, and don’t forget the mood swings and overall crankiness. Sorry for that last one, J.

 

2 Responses to “TWOsday Update Week 11”

  1. Mom & Dad Hodgkiss Says:

    We are excited about our new grandchild’s coming into this world to join Gunnar the big brother!

    It is so fun to learn week by week all your new developments!

    Are we almost at the second tri-mester? We are hoping your energy rises and your stomach settles soon.

    Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

