Team Erickson

Here we go!

My love affair with Craigslist October 6, 2011

Filed under: Home — teamerickson @ 10:43 am

I love Craigslist. Love it.

People on Craigslist will take practically anything if it’s marked free. A couple of times this year, J and I thought we’d have to fork over the money to get one of those huge dumpsters from our trash company. Nope. Mark it free on Craigslist and it’s gone by the weekend.

About a month ago we got rid of a ton of rock from our backyard. It had dirt, pine cones, weeds, and even some trash mixed in with it. And people were chomping at the bit to get it!

We tore down our old, rotting, nasty deck and it has been sitting in our garage for about two or three months now. I made J promise that he’d have it out of there by the time it gets cold. He kept saying he was going to throw it out piece by piece with the trash. But that would be a lot of work!

Well, well, wouldn’t ya know it’s supposed to get cold this weekend. And rainy. And I wasn’t looking forward to taking my pregnant self and my baby boy out into the rain and cold to get in the car.

So last night I took some pictures of our deck in the garage and posted an ad on Craigslist that it was free. I was totally honest with the ad, said it was not great wood, had been treated, and was rotten in some areas. Almost immediately J’s email and phone started exploding with inquiries about our nasty old deck.

Here's just a part of the wood, to give you an idea.

And I am so happy to report that as of 9 o’clock this morning, our garage is empty. That’s right, empty, people. There are two railings and the stairs still sitting out in the driveway, but that’s it. And I’m pretty sure the nice folks who came this morning are coming back for that stuff. But even if they don’t there’s a guy who wants the railings. Then we just have to break the steps apart and throw them out with the trash. And I will have a garage once more!!!

Oh praise the Lord for Craigslist and for people who want free stuff.

In other news, I think I’m on the upswing with this pregnancy. I’m beginning to eat more stuff and I’m not quite as tired as usual. Yippee!

 

Leave a Reply

