Team Erickson

Here we go!

TWOsday Update Week 13… FINALLY! October 19, 2011

Filed under: TWOsday Updates — teamerickson @ 8:34 pm

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is my 100th post since starting this blog!!

I desperately wanted to be able to write this post on TUESDAY, but my entire body had turned against me in rage on Monday morning. I had the sickness. The one that no one wants to talk about cause it’s gross. So I will spare you all the nitty-gritty details and just say it was rough. Real rough. Gunnar had a bit of the sickness too, but his was super mild and was mostly gone by Tuesday morning. I was still sick until this morning (Wednesday) and am finally feeling better just now. Thank the Lord!

How far along?:  13 weeks. Only 27 to go. Only? Riiiight.

Maternity clothes:  Had a rough night on Saturday and decided to go out shopping with my Target gift cards. Got two new, super cute tops! One is brown and is not maternity, but it’ll work till I’m about 7 months I think. The other is maternity and it’s red and real stretchy. Perfect.

Stretch marks:  No new ones to report. Thank goodness! The ones from last time have almost disappeared, but I’m betting they’ll come back with a vengeance sometime during the 3rd trimester.

Sleep:  Last night was the worst. I was dehydrated from the sickness so I had a really intense headache. I woke up at least six times and was sore, tired, and achy every time. I took a Benadryl (it’s on the approved list from my Dr!) thinking it might help me sleep and take the edge off the headache. Not much luck with either of those hopes. I woke up this morning with my raging headache and quickly realized the water I’d just had to drink was making its way back up. As I was hugging the porcelain throne, I sent J out to get me a Diet Coke right away. (Diet Coke is my cure-all for headaches and queasiness. Don’t ask me how, it just works.) Being the best husband EVER, he took Gunnar with him and let me shower, and then he decided to call in sick to work so he could stay home and take care of me. Is that the greatest thing you’ve ever heard or what?

Best moment this week:  Thank God I started feeling better by this afternoon because I’d planned a photo shoot with two of my gal pals for Gunnar’s first bday pictures. We went out to the Denver Botanic Gardens and got some gorgeous shots! I had a blast, and it was so good to get out of the house and into the fresh air. We also got some good walking time in, and that’s good for mama and Baby #2.

Worst Moment this week:  Cleaning up Gunnar’s regurgitated breakfast while I was about to lose my own. That’s hands down one of the worst parts about having a sick kid and being sick yourself. It was that very moment this week that made me thank my mom for all she’s done for me. Wowzers. Moms sacrifice a lot! Other worst moment – the same day as all the sickness issues, Gunnar fell off the couch and hit his head on the edge of our brick fireplace. It was mostly my fault; but hey, I was exhausted and my mental faculties weren’t exactly firing on all cylinders. So now he’s got a nice blue goose egg on his noggin. It’s on the far right side of his forehead. Way to go mom…

And here’s the picture to prove it. This was taken about 30 minutes after the run-in with the fireplace, yet notice how the little guy is still smiling. What a champ.

Movement:  The only movement involving my belly right now is expansion. Sad, but a new baby is sooo worth it!

Food cravings/aversions:  I ate chicken tonight. Yep, chicken. And it was good! I had it on a salad with cheese and crackers, as I still don’t think I could eat it by itself. But I ate some! Victory! And after these last three days of nothing but Bananas, Rice, Applesauce, and Toast, I’m pretty sure Baby #2 is enjoying some delicious protein right now. Also ate a hard-boiled egg. Actually craved it. Yay me. It’s still rough with a lot of foods, but I’m getting back into the swing of eating healthier.

Belly Button in or out?:  Oh its in all right. It would be total madness if it were out already!

What I miss:  Good ol’ energy. Also, eating a lot. Also, eating fun things. But that may be just because of my limited diet this week.

What I am looking forward to:  Being in the second trimester! Only one more week to go! Woohoo! Also, I have a maternity appointment next week, and Gunnar’s first birthday is coming up too!!

Milestones:  Baby #2 is the size of a peach now! My little peach is growing. So exciting! Tiny bones are beginning to form in the arms and legs, and vocal chords are making their way into place too! Hopefully this baby is not as loud as mama or dada. Baby can also move his or her arms and legs in a jerky fashion. Mama’s little swimmer!

Symptoms:  Ya know, I can’t even really tell right now. The sickness is throwing me off. My nausea could be the pregnancy, or it could be the sickness. And the tiredness too. Hoping that next week will bring new energy and more fun foods! 🙂

 

2 Responses to “TWOsday Update Week 13… FINALLY!”

  1. Mom & Dad Hodgkiss Says:

    Hey Sweet Girl! I know I had some tough times when I was pregnant and also had a one year old, but I do not remember anything but the good times; no kidding!
    Dad and I are so glad to hear you are feeling better. Thank you Jesus! We know John takes good care of you and Gunnar too. Give him a big hug from us!
    We’re happy that you and Gunnar and the girls had a fun time taking pictures today! Love, Mom and Dad

    • teamerickson Says:

      Thanks mom. I’m glad I’m feeling better too! I really am much more thankful for all you did for us as kids as I go through this stage myself. Being a mom is not easy! But it is rewarding. 🙂


Leave a Reply

