Team Erickson

Here we go!

TWOsday Update Week 17 November 15, 2011

Filed under: TWOsday Updates — teamerickson @ 12:32 pm

How far along?:  17 weeks. And 23-ish to go!

Maternity clothes:  I have about three maternity tops that I feel really great in. And I want to wear them over and over and over. But I guess that gets a little monotonous, plus people might think I’m stuck in a rut, so I’ve gotta mix it up. And yesterday I mixed it up by wearing… a HUGE sweatshirt to the grocery store. I’m talking at least three sizes too big, and it’s made for a man, so that makes it even roomier. Nice. So stylish.

Stretch marks:  No new ones to report. Thank goodness! The ones from last time have almost disappeared, but I’m betting they’ll come back with a vengeance sometime during the 3rd trimester.

Sleep:  I have to make myself go to bed earlier. Period. There is nothing else that is going to work. Now, I am thanking my lucky stars that Gunnar woke up around 7 this morning instead of 6, but mama is still not well rested. And when mama is tired, everybody feels it. So I’m going to try this week for a bedtime of 9-10pm instead of 10-11pm. Wish me luck.

Best moment this week:  Gunnar and I went to the pool yesterday with some friends and it was so fun! This pool has a slow and steady decline entry on one side (like a wave pool at a water park, but without the waves), so Gunnar and I started there. Well, the minute we entered the water Gunnar started screaming. He did not like this pool idea at all. In fact, he protested and clung on to me for about twenty or thirty minutes. So after trying everything else, I grabbed some toys for him, and boy did that do the trick! I think it may have felt more like a fun bath with the toys than a torture pool full of hidden dangers and possibly even piranhas. He began crawling around in the water and exploring. He even stood for a good while by himself! I’m so proud of my little guy. And we had a blast with our friends. And a good nap afterward. 🙂

Worst Moment this week:  I’m sure I’ve had a couple, but I can’t think of any right now. Blame it on the pregnancy brain. Sometimes it’s a good thing!

Movement:  I feel like I’m feeling this baby move sometimes, but I think it’s just air bubbles moving around in there. Can’t wait to feel him or her soon!

Food cravings/aversions:  For some weird reason, I’ve been wanting to drink Coca Cola lately. And I’m talking the real stuff. No diet, no zero, no added syrups. Just straight up Coke. And I NEVER drink Coke. So this is a pretty weird craving. Maybe it’s cause I’m so tired? Also craving delicious jalapeno pepper flakes. They’re like red pepper flakes only so much more awesome! If you like spicy food, try them out.

Belly Button in or out?:  Oh its in all right. It would be total madness if it were out already!

What I miss:  Feeling really, truly, completely rested. But that hasn’t happened since before I shared a bed with J. So I’m missing that from a few years ago. And I don’t think it’s coming back anytime soon. Or anytime at all. 🙂

What I am looking forward to:  Doctor appointment tomorrow! So excited to hear baby’s heartbeat and make sure everything is going ok in there. I’ll also be scheduling my 20 week ultrasound tomorrow. Really looking forward to that one! And, of course, I’m looking forward to my birthday this week, and a date night with John on Friday!

Milestones:  Baby is about five inches long now! Wowzers. Baby fat is finally beginning to develop this week, and will continue to multiply for the next 23 weeks or so. Hearing is a go now, and loud noises will even startle baby. And the eyes are practicing moving back and forth. The eyelids are still closed, but it’s possible for baby to perceive light through my belly. Go baby. You are a little growing machine!

Symptoms:  Hormonal much? Yes. Yes I am. Poor J. I just really feel bad for him when I’m pregnant. I cried while watching The Price is Right today. You read that right.

 

4 Responses to “TWOsday Update Week 17”

  1. Kelly Says:

    i feel bad for John, but then again I dont. BUT i am smirking at the idea of you crying while watching the Price Is Right. ‘Common down Gina, you are the next contestant on the Price is Right!” Now, how much do you bid on this jar of jalapeno pepper flakes?

  2. Danyal Says:

    Ok, that last thing about The Price Is Right had me cracking UP! I miss you…

  3. Mom & Dad Hodgkiss Says:

    I’m not sure the peppers are all that good for the baby, but if you start him out on them maybe he will like them later. (or She)

    Dad

  4. Mom & Dad Hodgkiss Says:

    Dear Gina,
    It will be fun to know if baby is a girl or a boy. We will know before Christmas, right? Dad’s comment assumes it is a he. I am assuming a girl. We should make a bet.
    We are still stricken with adoration for our grandson. It will be so fun to get to play with Gunnar again. He is so much more active and interested in things now. He will have a whole new house of things to explore. We’ll be baby proofing soon. Love, Mom and Dad


Leave a Reply

