Team Erickson

Here we go!

TWOsday Update Week 18 November 21, 2011

Filed under: TWOsday Updates — teamerickson @ 6:46 pm

How far along?:  18 weeks. And 22-ish to go. Whoopee… But we find out whether we’re having a pink one or a blue one soon!

Maternity clothes:  Another sweatshirt kind of day. But this weekend was a little different. J and I volunteered at a gala for my old job. It was country western themed and it was so much fun! I wore a cute maternity jean skirt with an embroidered green top, a sweet necklace, and some cowgirl boots I borrowed from my friend Kiffen. And I actually felt cute for a while! 🙂 Yay!

Stretch marks:  No new ones to report. Thank goodness! The ones from last time have almost disappeared, but I’m betting they’ll come back with a vengeance sometime during the 3rd trimester.

Sleep:  Took a good nap today. I needed that. Also, on both Saturday and Sunday mornings, J got up with Gunnar, fed him, and entertained him until I woke up! I got to sleep in two days in a row! Man, I have the best husband in the world. Still need more sleep, but I’m getting there.

Best moment this week:  Probably going out two nights in a row. J and I went out on Friday for my birthday. We saw a movie and ate some dinner. It was such a great time to be out just the two of us. Our friends Mike & Eunice watched Gunnar at their house for us so we had no worries all night! Eunice didn’t even mind that he cried for a good while before falling asleep. 🙂 Then Saturday brought more fun with the gala. I ate a delicious steak dinner and had fun with my old coworkers. And Kelly watched Gunnar for us that night at our house, which was perfect since he got to sleep in his own bed! She fed him and put him down and everything. AND THEN… I came home to a clean house, courtesy of Kelly! And I am not kidding when I say our house was kinda gross when we left. But Kelly did all the dishes in the kitchen and then picked up the toys and junk in the living room. So good to have amazing friends!

Worst Moment this week:  Just had a rough day yesterday. It was a combination of a few things, but the straw that broke the camel’s back was the death of our computer. We bought it less than a year ago! That really stressed me out. But I called tech support today and they think it’s a hard drive issue. And since we bought it so recently, all of the repairs should be covered under the company warranty. Praise God! Oh, and praise God again that we had an external hard drive to back everything up, including all of Gunnar’s pictures, so we don’t have to worry about that issue!! It will just take a couple of weeks before our computer is back up and running.

Movement:  Pretty sure I felt the baby move last night! So exciting! Can’t wait to feel it move some more. But I know the day is coming when I’ll be saying that I can’t wait to NOT feel the baby moving inside my belly because it will no longer be in there. 🙂 For today, I will just enjoy those little movements.

Food cravings/aversions:  Anything spicy or sweet. Or spicy and sweet, like a delicious BBQ sauce. Also, burgers. And steak. And all sorts of other red meats. Nom nom nom.

Belly Button in or out?:  Oh its in all right. It would be total madness if it were out already!

What I miss:  Comfortably and easily bending over to pick up the baby, lotion my legs, or wipe up a mess on the floor. Yep, that stage is already here.

What I am looking forward to:  Oh my word… THANKSGIVING! We’re spending the day with our friends Mel and Jim and their son Gideon. They don’t have family out here either so we’re going to make it a small party for all of us. They’re doing just about everything for the day, and I am so full of THANKSGIVING for that. I’m bringing some sparkling cider, olives, green bean casserole (first time making that!), and homemade cranberries (my fav!) for our feast. Can’t wait!

Milestones:  Baby is about 5 ounces now. That’s the weight of a good chicken breast! Baby has apparently mastered the art of the yawn by now too. Somebody’s sleepy. And baby’s nervous system is also rapidly maturing. That’s a good thing.

Symptoms:  Mostly just super duper emotional. Lots of tearing up. I cried five times while watching a movie the other day. And one of those times was about to be the “ugly cry,” but I held it in because there were other people around us. Embarrassing! 🙂 Also I’ve had a bit of back pain lately. Gunnar needs to learn how to walk soon so mama doesn’t have to heave his little, yet heavy, body everywhere!

 

One Response to “TWOsday Update Week 18”

  1. Mom & Dad Hodgkiss Says:

    Its so exciting to hear that the new little one is moving enough for you to feel them! Tomorrow I can turn my block over to 21 weeks until…Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

