Team Erickson

Here we go!

Making my own baby wipe solution January 9, 2012

Filed under: Gunnar,Recipes — teamerickson @ 10:00 am

A few months ago I did something I said I would never do. I switched Gunnar to cloth diapers.

What was so funny to me at the time was that I said I would make the switch to cloth, but that I’d NEVER use cloth wipes. Hahaha! What’s the difference? You just throw those in the wash with the diapers and it’s easy peasy.

I have been doing both cloth diapers and wipes for a while now, and I can definitely say that disposable diapers and wipes can be much easier. BUT, the cost is really what drives me to stick with cloth. Plus, there are a lot less chemicals touching his skin and a lot less bulk going into landfills.

(Please don’t stop reading because you think I’m crazy now. I would have thought that a few months ago too. And BTW, I don’t judge anyone who uses disposables. I totally get it. It’s just plain easier.)

All that said… when I finally decided to use cloth wipes, I needed to come up with some sort of way I could keep water or a solution in a bottle next to the changing table so I didn’t have to run out of the room and leave Gunnar on top of the changing table while I wet down a wash cloth. So I started looking for home-made diaper wipe solutions. I ran across this website via my Google search and tried out the lavender and tea tree oil solution. And I LOVED it! Gunnar did too. The kid has had some pretty nasty diaper rash in his day. Disposable wipes always left him screaming. But this stuff has never irritated him at all.

So, without further doo-doo, here is the recipe I used…

1/8 cup olive oil
1 Tbl baby shampoo
4 drops tea tree essential oil
8 drops lavender essential oil
3 cups water

Combine it all and put it in a bottle. I used an old honey bear bottle. You could also use a ketchup or mustard bottle or even a spray bottle.

It’s as simple as that, folks! If you’ve got a little one, and you want to try cloth wipes, give this one a go!

 

5 Responses to “Making my own baby wipe solution”

  1. Bonnie E. Hodgkiss Says:

    Here Here!! I am glad his cute little bottom doesn’t have to sting anymore from the packaged ones.

    I never had to fill our my email and name before we switched to Firefox. Your website does not recognize my computer anymore. Is there anything I can do about this. Love, Mom

  2. swimntina Says:

    We use cloth diapers, but only use cloth wipes some of the time…Andy refuses to use them, but I haven’t ever found the right wetness ratio with the spray bottle we use. Instead I use them as mini towels to dry of a wet bottom.

    • teamerickson Says:

      I really had to start using them since my little guy would scream bloody murder when I’d wipe him with a conventional wipe. Even the sensitive ones still bothered his diaper rash. I usually get them a little too wet since I use an old honey bottle. It comes out kind of fast! 🙂 My husband doesn’t like the idea of cloth wipes either, but when I don’t buy the disposable ones, he has no other option. Haha! 🙂

  3. Amy Esquivel Says:

    Thanks for the recipe! I’ve been using just water on our cloth wipes since we started, but now that Dili started solids, her poop is, well… Different 🙂 So I wanted something to wash the gunk away better and leave her smelling pretty instead of poopy! Do they wash out fine with the cloth diapers without leaving a residue or absorption issues?

    • teamerickson Says:

      I haven’t had any issue with the solution and washing out. I suppose you could wash them separate if you’re worried about it though. I actually hadn’t even thought of that with the olive oil in there. 🙂 I totally remember the change from breast milk to solids. Whewee! Big transition!


Leave a Reply

