Team Erickson

Here we go!

TWOsday Update Week 27 January 26, 2012

Filed under: TWOsday Updates — teamerickson @ 1:31 pm

How far along?:  27 weeks and 13-ish to go! This is the last week of my 2nd trimester. Yep, next Tuesday I will officially be in the third trimester! Woo-hoo!

Maternity clothes:  I’m trying to dress in something that I feel good in everyday. I usually put on a pair of jeans and a cute top. Only problem is that I take Gunnar out in the afternoons on days that aren’t too cold and I put a huge sweatshirt over my cute outfit. Then I forget to take it off until I’m going to bed, so J never gets to see me lookin’ all cute. Dang it.

Stretch marks:  No new ones to report. Thank goodness! The ones from last time have almost disappeared, but I’m betting they’ll come back with a vengeance sometime during the 3rd trimester.

Sleep:  The dreams. They are a-killin’ me. My mind is just too busy at night to get any real sleep in. My dreams are so vivid, they’re just like real life. And they’re usually things that could actually happen. But I am sleeping enough. I’ve been trying to avoid naps this week so I can be more productive. Don’t get me wrong – if I need a nap, I am gonna take it. But I’ve been getting my house cleaned and organized, getting rid of junk, and taking care of my (gasp!) finances. So naps have been put on the back burner. And I actually feel great. I think something that has been really helping is taking a shower first thing in the morning. Normally I wait until Gunnar’s nap time so I don’t have to hear him cry. (Hahaha! I just read that sentence again. I sound like mommy dearest, but seriously people, babies need their sleep and I intend on letting mine get theirs however possible.) So usually I don’t really “wake up” until around 11am. This week has been totally different in a really good way. I may try to keep this up till Genevieve comes!

Best moment this week: I was going to say watching the Patriots lose to the Ravens. But that didn’t happen. So… let’s see… J and I took Gunnar to Ikea on Saturday afternoon and let him run around. It was so fun! He loved playing in all the kid room set ups and grabbing toys wherever he could. He also loved playing on a little wooden slide with J. And at the end of the day, I bought a cinnamon bun to share with him. I got about three bites of it. He ate the rest!

Worst Moment this week:  Still with Gunnar’s teething. Found out why he was so cranky. He popped out THREE teeth this week. THREE. MOLARS. Argh. And he’s got a little cold now too. He’s been coughing every night from about the time I put him down at 6pm till around 9pm. Poor kid. I’ve been giving him warm baths before bed, putting some cold rub on his chest, using the humidifier, giving him honey for the cough, and all sorts of other things. Poor guy is just miserable at night.

Movement:  Still moving for mama. I love to feel Genevieve move. I can see it from the outside now pretty well too.

Food cravings/aversions:  Chocolate milk. I make my own, so it’s a little better than the store bought stuff. But still not a great food to be eating. 🙂 I made a spinach salad with tortilla chips, cheese, jalapeno ranch dressing, and dried jalapeno flakes last night for dinner and it was AWESOME. I think I’ll have it again today for lunch. I also made some black bean burgers using a can of black beans, a couple cups of dry oatmeal, some onion, and a little salt and chili powder. Throw it all in a food processor, blend, and cook in a skillet with a little oil. They were awesome! J loved them and has requested them to be on the menu every week now. I serve them with delicious homemade sweet potato fries. Yum!

Belly Button in or out?:  Really starting to flatten out now. Gunnar points to my belly button whenever he sees it and says, “Sat?” (Gunnar talk for “What’s that?”) And I say back “Belly button.” Then I point his out. I don’t think he’s figured out that he has one too though. He’s never interested in his own belly button, just mama’s.

What I miss:  Being pregnant without the extra kid. Ha! Being pregnant with Gunnar was so easy because I could do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. So I took a nap whenever. I went to sleep whenever. I watched TV and ate whenever. Well, I can’t do that now. But this is how families work. I don’t know what’s better – having quadruplets to get it all over with at once, or having four successive pregnancies. Ok, yes I do know which is better. I would have lost my mind if it would have been Gunnar + 3 all at once. Thank you Lord for not blessing me with four kids in one pregnancy.

What I am looking forward to: Gunnar getting the rest of his molars in. So he can finally stop whining at me. 🙂 (I wrote this one last week and it still rings true, so I’ll leave it.) Also looking forward to getting the loft set up with the rocker, changing table, and new dresser for Genevieve. And I’m excited to meet my baby girl in 13-ish weeks!!

Milestones:  Baby girl has doubled her weight from four weeks ago – she’s over the 2 lb mark! Big girl! She is also now being measured from head to toe, instead of crown to rump. So she measures around 15 inches long this week! And knowing her father, she may be on the upper end of that scale. Genevieve is able to taste different foods now too. She can tell if mama put those jalapeno pepper flakes on her salad.

Symptoms:  Just big. Big. Big. Oh, and the nesting instinct has been strong this week! I’ve done a lot around the house. Vacuuming the whole house (including the stairs!), cleaning both bathrooms, washing lots of stuff, getting rid of junk in Gunnar’s room, re-arranging the living room, sweeping and mopping, putting stuff we don’t need on Craigslist, etc. I love the nesting thing. So glad God gave us that extra little push during pregnancy. I need it!

 

One Response to “TWOsday Update Week 27”

  1. Grandma Says:

    It is so good to hear of your energy! I am glad that you are enjoying being a wife and mom. It is really trying at times, but it is so worth it! I love my kids and grand kids. Mom


Leave a Reply

