Team Erickson

Here we go!

TWOsday Update Week 37 April 3, 2012

Filed under: TWOsday Updates — teamerickson @ 1:08 pm

How far along?:  37 weeks and counting. Only 3-ish left! Big news this week – we have reached “full term!” That means that as of right now the medical people consider Genevieve to be developed enough to thrive outside of the womb. Sooooo… any time now. 🙂

Maternity clothes:  I finally just spent the gift card my bro in law gave me for Target. I got two nursing tank tops and one nursing bra. I am so excited! They should get here between Friday and Tuesday. Whoopee! With Gunnar I only had one nursing tank. It’s just not enough. So this time, in addition to my white one, I’ll have a black and a coral colored one. Hopefully the sizes I ordered are right.

Stretch marks:  The ones I had with Gunnar are beginning to slowly (very slowly) grow. But it’s ok. I’ve settled in my mind that they’re my battle scars. I’ll be proud of them.

Sleep:  Oooo I have had the weirdest dreams lately. I am going to leave it at that since they are so weird and freaky that they may be considered TMI (Too Much Information), so let’s just say I’m getting enough rest, but it’s usually disturbing.

Best moment this week: Well let’s see… probably hearing that I’m already dilating and effacing. Yay Genevieve! Get yourself outta there! Another great moment was finding a Weber charcoal grill for J for $8 at a garage sale. He was so excited!

J's new charcoal grill

And the best moment of the week was most definitely Genevieve’s baby shower. Some gals from church got together and just blessed me with the cutest clothes, blankies, and useful baby what-nots. As I’m typing, I’ve got the clothes and blankies going in the laundry. Can’t wait to get it all organized and put away!!

Worst Moment this week:  My not so good news this week came when we saw that Genevieve is “sunny side up” in our ultrasound. This means that she’s still head down (great position to be in for birth) but she’s going to come out face up. Now, this is not a huge deal and our doctor isn’t even concerned about it at all. What it means for me is that I’ll have some really powerful back labor and it may be more difficult to push her out. That’s just not so fun. So I’m praying that by the time I go into labor she’ll have turned around so her spine is in line with my stomach, and we’ll be all set. (It’s totally possible for her to turn, by the way. So we’ll just wait and see.)

Movement:  She was moving around like crazy this morning! Not sure what got into her, but I think she’s getting excited to see us. I had a dream the other night that I could actually see her little foot when she kicked me, like my uterus was made out of a latex balloon instead of layer upon layer of fat, muscle, and other stuff surrounded by skin. It was kind of creepy, but in my dream I figured it was normal.

Food cravings/aversions:  Eating is sounding less and less appealing to me by the day. I can get by just fine on two meals a day right now because I just don’t have the room to put anything else in there anymore. Blah.

Belly Button in or out?:  Just continuing to get flatter and flatter. Boy it looks weird. Gunnar still loves it though!

What I miss:  I had a real problem tying my shoes the other day. I was sitting in a chair and was huffing and puffing just trying to breathe while bending over. I would say that it’s gonna be flip-flops from here on out, but it just snowed this morning in Denver… so no. For the past two weeks we’ve had nothing but sunshine and high 70’s and low 80’s. It’s been beautiful! But then this morning came and all of a sudden it was gone. Sad. I guess the end of this week is supposed to bring more temps in the 70’s, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed and hope for a nice day outside again.

What I am looking forward to:  I have another doctor appointment tomorrow and they’ll check to see if I’ve dilated anymore. I’m looking forward to seeing what my body is doing! Also looking forward to Easter! J and I are going to try out an Easter egg hunt with Gunnar. And by “hunt” I mean I’m going to throw a bunch of plastic eggs on the floor (or in the yard if its nice) and see if he’ll pick them up. We’re going to put Goldfish crackers inside and see if that spurs him on to pick them up. He LOVES those. 🙂 Pictures and video to come!

Milestones:  Genevieve is gaining about half an ounce a day. Whoa girl! She’s probably around 6.5 lbs. this week. She is busy practicing her breathing skills (actually sucking in and blowing out amniotic fluid), sucking her thumb, blinking, and pivoting from side to side. And even with all that stuff to do, I’ve still gotta believe life inside the womb is pretty darn boring. I mean, seriously, what does she do all day?

Symptoms:  Oh the contractions. I’ve begun to believe that I am one of those women who are in labor for 3 or 4 weeks before the baby comes. My body does just enough work to get itself through the first stage of labor during those couple of weeks, then when the real thing hits I rush through it like it’s a sprint to the finish line. Last night while lying in bed I had two somewhat painful contractions right in a row and I thought it was starting. J was sound asleep already so I let him be, but I got all excited like we were about to head out the door. Not so. Not so. I can verify that I am sitting here today just as pregnant as can be.

 

2 Responses to “TWOsday Update Week 37”

  1. Mom Says:

    I just turned my block over to 03 weeks to go! I am so excited to see all of you! It sounds like Genevieve might come any time now! Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

