Team Erickson

Here we go!

TWOsday Update Week 38 April 10, 2012

Filed under: TWOsday Updates — teamerickson @ 2:12 pm

How far along?:  38 weeks and counting. Only 2-ish left! We are down to the wire, folks. This baby could come at any moment. I am personally hoping she holds on till the 22nd so she’ll be born on my dad and grandma’s birthday. Plus, my mom would be here for the birth if it were that day. And I am really, really hoping she doesn’t come until at least a week from today. That way my mom will be here when we get out of the hospital with Genevieve, so she can be here to help me with Gunnar. That’s probably the most stressful thing I have to think about right now: What the heck am I going to do with Gunnar if my mom isn’t here when Genevieve is born (or shortly thereafter)??? I really can’t imagine being at home by myself with a toddler and a newborn.

Now comes the question: Why wouldn’t J be able to help? Well, the plan is that he’ll take off the two days that we are in the hospital, but then he’ll go right back to work so that he can take his two weeks of paternal leave when his parents get here at the beginning of May. We have big plans to install a concrete patio and put sod down in the backyard, so he wants to use his two weeks off to work on home projects.

And all the ladies said, “Yes and Amen!

Maternity clothes: Oh I can’t wait to be out of them. I have a feeling it might be a while after Genevieve is here, but that’s ok. Losing any amount of weight will be encouraging compared to the weekly gain I’ve had over the past 9 months or so. I can’t remember what normal jeans feel like, though I can guarantee that they are a lot less comfortable. Haha! Yet they look so much better. So anyway, here’s to skinny jeans sometime in the next year! Or more if it takes longer! Or whenever! I’d just like to fit into my pre-Gunnar jeans again someday.

Stretch marks:  The ones I had with Gunnar are beginning to slowly (very slowly) grow. But it’s ok. I’ve settled in my mind that they’re my battle scars. I’ll be proud of them.

Sleep: My dreams have quieted down a little bit this week, but the funny thing is that J’s dream have gotten weird. I think he’s having sympathy dreams for me. 🙂 In other sleep news, last night I tossed and turned for a good portion of the night and woke up a few times to go potty. I can’t wait till I can sleep through the night again. Maybe Genevieve will be an early good sleeper and it’ll happen sooner than I think! I can always hope!

Best moment this week:  Easter! We had a great time on Saturday morning with Gunnar doing his first ever Easter Egg Hunt. He mostly got the concept, which made it pretty exciting. We put one Goldfish Cracker in each plastic egg and let him go to town. I know, not the most traditional thing to do, but he’s more of a savory guy than sweet, just like his daddy. And he never gets Goldfish at home, only at church, so the Goldfish were a welcome surprise.

Gunnar gets the eggs in the bucket with a little help from Dada.

He was super excited about eating his Goldfish Crackers

Easter Sunday at church was also pretty fun. J got up early to make breakfast for all the church volunteers and Gunnar and I got there in time to enjoy his hard work. 🙂 J and I worked in the toddler room for one of the services, then were able to sit and listen to another one. So we had a pretty busy time at church, but it was a great service. After church we headed over to our friends Judah and Candace’s house for Easter dinner. Our friends Phil and Kiffen, and Donald and Megan also came. Candace made a leg of lamb (which I had never had before and was delicious!!), J made a tri-tip and smoked a turkey breast, and everyone else brought yummy sides. We ate and ate and ate some more. By the end I was stuffed, but I still managed to have a piece of Candace’s homemade cheesecake. It was so good!! Then we all went home and went to bed early. 🙂

Our beautiful Easter dinner table all set and ready for food!

Worst Moment this week:  Same day. On Easter Sunday while J and I were working in the toddler room I accidentally stepped on Gunnar’s pinky with the heel of my high heeled shoe. (Yes, pregnant and heels can work together, and it actually helps alleviate back pain too!) Now, when I say I stepped on his pinky, it wasn’t just a quick miss-step, then I jumped off. I actually didn’t even realize I was on his pinky because he was behind me on the ground and I was holding another kid and opening the door for another gal to come in to the room. So I was standing on his pinky for a good while. I didn’t hear him screaming because there was no scream. It was one of those things where it’s so painful that your whole body just shakes and you gasp for air. Anyway, J finally realized what was going on and shoved me aside. Poor Gunnar had a good sized indentation on his pinky, but he could still move it just fine. He cried for a few minutes, but then ran off to play with the other kids. I felt so bad for him! It’s one thing when your kid falls or hurts themselves, but it’s a whole other thing when they get hurt and it’s all your fault. Mom fail!

Movement:  She’s still movin’ and a shakin’ in there. I’m pretty sure she’s still sunny side up too, since I think I feel her feet at the front of my belly. Ah well. She’ll come out somehow, someway, sometime.

Food cravings/aversions:  A good friend of mine, Julie, came over and brought me some of her homemade red velvet cake yesterday. She made it for a church event that she thought was going to be on Easter weekend, but it turns out its next weekend. So I am the very lucky/blessed/privileged recipient of the best red velvet cake I’ve ever had. Yay!!

Belly Button in or out?:  Just continuing to get flatter and flatter. Boy it looks weird. Gunnar still loves it though!

What I miss:  SLEEPING. I haven’t even been taking naps lately because I’ve been nesting while Gunnar is napping. Maybe not the best idea, but I’ve gotta do something to get this place in order before the baby comes!

What I am looking forward to:  My doctor appointment tomorrow afternoon. We’ll see if I’ve dilated anymore and check on how things are going. I think they’ll ask if I want them to strip my membranes to see if we can get the girl to come out, but as I said earlier, I’m not quite ready since my mom is still a week and a half away from being here.

Milestones:  Genevieve is right around the 7 lb. mark this week! (Gunnar was 7 lbs. 13 oz. when he was born.) She’s pretty much ready for her arrival as she’s developing surfactant in her lungs now. Surfactant is what will help her breathe, because it keeps the lungs from sticking together. I can’t wait to meet this little girl!

Symptoms:  This week it’s all about the nesting. I’ve been cleaning like a mad-woman. But I have to say I’m super excited about it because all of my laundry is done AND put away (I know!!), the basement is clean and ready for my mom to stay in it, and Genevieve’s clothes are all organized in her dresser and the bigger sizes are in labeled boxes stored away in the closet. Only a few more things on my to-do list and my house will be sparkling and ready for a new baby!

 

2 Responses to “TWOsday Update Week 38”

  1. Les hodgkiss Says:

    Remember when I shut the slider door on the VW bus on J oanna’s foot??? Man I felt terrible, but she got over it pretty quick. And she is still walking today!!!!
    Love You Dad


Leave a Reply

