Team Erickson

Here we go!

Potty Training… Day 3!! August 15, 2012

Filed under: Gunnar — teamerickson @ 11:01 pm

This potty training thing is hard work. It’s exhausting in just about every way imaginable.

Mentally – Doubting yourself for ever thinking this was a good idea. Trying to figure out what the kid is thinking and how to teach him what to do. Trying to come up with new ways to make it exciting. Figuring out how to balance two kids at once while one is potty training  and the other is a screaming 3 month old who needs to be fed and put down for a nap. Yeah…

Emotionally – Keeping that happy face on when all you want to do is scream, cry, pull your hair out, or all three at the same time. And keeping all your emotions in check so the kid doesn’t see how upset you are that he just peepeed all over your floor. Also, finding the energy to get SUPER DUPER EXCITED when peepee does finally happen on the toilet.

Physically – Lifting a 30lb kid on and off the pot several times a day is no joke. This also includes squatting down so you’re on eye level with him, sometimes sitting on the hard floor for long periods of time, and let’s not forget all the jumping up and running to the bathroom when he says “Mama!”

Well this morning my hard work really started to pay off!

Gunnar went pee on the potty three times! One of those three times was even in the middle of lunch time when he was in his high chair! He said, “Mama!” and grabbed his man parts. So I grabbed him and threw him on the potty and he went! I was so proud!

AND…

WE HAD NO ACCIDENTS AT ALL THIS MORNING!!!

This is going pretty well.

He woke up from nap time yelling, “Poo! Poo!” This is not all that unusual considering he has been saying poo to try to get out of napping. So I figured it was probably not a sign of things to come.

We went down stairs and he played for a few minutes. Then he said, “Poo!” again, so I ran him to the toilet. I sat him down and got him the balloons he’d earned today because he wanted to play with them. Then I left him alone (door open of course), as has been the best scenario for getting him to go.

I heard some pee so I walked back in and said, “Yay Gunnar! You went pee! Yay! Mama is so proud of you!” I asked if he was done then picked him up off the pot. And lo and behold there was poop in the potty!!!!! I freaked out with excitement! I showed him the poop and said, “Good job! You made that in the toilet!” He didn’t seem as thrilled as I was, and quickly flushed it down the toilet. 🙂

Gunnar got a big prize for going poop – a new car!

It’s a little Matchbox Jeep Wrangler. He was pretty stoked about it.

He went pee a couple more times after that.

We walked outside to drop a letter in the mailbox and when we got back, Vivvi was crying, so I went upstairs to get her. Shortly after I got back down, Gunnar had his first accident of the day. He was super bummed about it. And he didn’t want to go on the toilet after that. We spent another hour and a half downstairs, with me periodically putting him on the potty, but nothing happened.

Eventually Vivvi was ready to go back to bed so I took Gunnar upstairs and had him sit on the toilet up there so I could watch him go and nurse Vivvi at the same time. He still didn’t go, but at least I was back to only watching one kid.

Both Gunnar and I had had a full day, so I decided it was time to just have some fun. We went outside and I filled up his kiddie pool and let him play. He peed several times in his undies, which he loved. 🙂 It gave me a break from all the worrying too.

We went back inside for dinner. After dinner he sat on the potty for about 15 minutes. I think he was about to go, but then J got home so he got distracted and wanted to get down. I ran back outside to look for the car he had earned today so he could show his dad, and Gunnar followed me out there and proceeded to pee. NICE.

I picked him up and we went upstairs and got ready for bed. Right when I got his diaper and clothes on, he said, “Poo! Poo!” I asked him if he needed to go potty and he cried and said yes. So I took him downstairs and set him on the potty. Nothing happened. And of course, right when I let him off the potty he was fine and started running around. I have to hand it to him, he’s a pretty good manipulator. He really knows how to get out of bed time.

All right, that’s it for today. Here’s hoping that we both have a good and stress-free day tomorrow with no accidents!!!

 

Leave a Reply

